Greetings

Hello fellow movie lovers!

I am so excited to be starting this blog, but before I begin let me tell you a little bit about myself.

So I don’t remember many stories from my childhood, but one that I can vividly recall occurred in June of 2000. It was a beautiful day; it was the kind of day where you should be outside eating ice cream or drinking from the hose or collecting bugs… unless you were like me and found it a little too exhausting to be out in that heat. I was a shy six-year old lying on the living room floor eating cereal in front of the TV. There I was, sprawled out watching reruns of Winnie the Pooh just enjoying life, when all of the sudden, a commercial break. Boooo. So, I grabbed the remote and started flipping through the channels. Then there it was. Mrs. Doubtfire was on TV. I don’t remember what made my six-year-old brain decide to pick this channel, but I did, and I freakin’ LOVED that movie. Looking back, I don’t know why I found Robin Williams in drag to be quite so delightful, but the heart wants what the heart wants. So sometime in the next week, my Mom took me to the video store and we were looking through the “Kids Only!” section for something to rent. I had to explain to my mother that I was no longer interested in Kids’ movies. Now I liked real movies. I wanted to rent Mrs. Doubtfire. So my dear mother went and checked it out, only to return and tell me that unfortunately, this movie was rated PG-13, so I would have to wait a few more years. All I can remember thinking is how much I wanted to be thirteen years old, so that I could watch Mrs. Doubtfire, or any grown-up movie for that matter, whenever I wanted to.

Well, this story has a happy ending because the novelty of being over thirteen still hasn’t worn off. I love movies, especially the grown-up ones. Maybe Mrs. Doubtfire has lost its charm, but there is still nothing better than going on Netflix or to the theater and being able to watch whatever I damn-well please.

Mrs-Doubtfire-mrs-doubtfire-23121496-400-300

And yes, I realize that my life is a little bit sad and that movies don’t bring most people this much joy, but I am okay with that because I have found a way to put my favorite pastime to use, in the form of this blog. I, a veteran movie-watcher, will offer my wisdom to the masses in the form of recommending which movies to see, and which ones to avoid.

I am so excited to finally share my pent-up feelings about some of my favorite (and least favorite) films on Netflix, in theaters, or just in general. If I can encourage you to see one good movie that you may have otherwise missed, then this blog will have been a success.

Photo courtesy of Internet Movie Database (imdb.com)

2 thoughts on “Greetings

  1. Excellent post. I have a similar mission statement on my “About” page. You have come to the right place to find others who share your passion for film.

Leave a Reply

