10 Recommended Romantic Comedies

This post is dedicated to Emily, as she requested some suggestions for romantic comedies. I don’t want to say that these are my favourites because whenever I list my favourites of anything, I always forget something and regret it terribly. So here are ten great romantic comedies that I would recommend.

10. Catch and Release (2006)

catch_and_release_movie_image_jennifer_garner_timothy_olyphant

This film may be more comfortable in the romantic/indie/drama genre, but there are some funny parts (mainly thanks to the delightful Kevin Smith).

9. Say Anything (1989)

John-Cusack-in-Say-Anythi-002

This is a classic. Nothing will ever be as romantic as John Cusack holding a boom box outside of the bedroom window playing “In Your Eyes.” Nothing.

8. (500) Days of Summer (2009)

936full-(500)-days-of-summer-screenshot

This film doesn’t follow the typical storyline of a romantic comedy, but it warns you right at the beginning. It is unique, quirky, and beautiful, plus Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Zooey Deschanel have a very believable on-screen chemistry.

7. Forgetting Sarah Marshall (2008)

forgetting-sarah-marshall1

This is just a fun, funny movie. It is a nice balance of comedy and sweetness, so everyone can find something to enjoy (hopefully).

6. The 40-Year-Old Virgin (2005)

40-Year-Old-Virgin-the-40-year-old-virgin-1963844-780-436

I’m a sucker for anything to do with Judd Apatow, but this is definitely one of his greatest accomplishments. This love story is unique to say the least, and I am convinced that Steve Carell is one of the only people who could have pulled off a likeable and convincing 40-year-old virgin.

5. The Wedding Singer (1998)

wedding_singer

This is from back when Adam Sandler actually had to try and the world was free from the horrors of Jack and Jill or Grown Ups 2. One of my all-time favourites, this movie is hilarious, sweet, and sincere.

4. Knocked Up (2007)

Knocked-Up

Round two for Apatow fans! What I love about this film is how it’s more of a funny movie with a romantic component. In other words, the laugh-to-mushiness ratio is largely in favour of the laughs, which is nice.

3. Crazy, Stupid, Love. (2011)

Crazy, Stupid, Love.

I love this story. I love all of the actors. I love all of the characters. I just love this movie. It’s sweet, heartwarming, and funny. Plus, it’s on Netflix.

2. Silver Linings Playbook (2012)

watch-an-alternate-ending-for-silver-linings-playbook

What makes this movie special is the fact that the characters are sort of messed up. It’s not about Prince Charming finding his perfect Princess, it’s two messed up people coming together and accepting their mutual craziness. It’s just a refreshing, quirky movie.

1. 10 Things I Hate About You (1999)

10_things_i_hate_about_you_8

Okay, this is definitely my number one romantic comedy recommendation. Julia Stiles is a strong role model, Heath Ledger is just so dreamy, and their chemistry is perfect. It’s the kind of movie that just leaves you happy. Okay, maybe Heath Ledger singing “Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You” is more romantic than Cusack’s boom box. Maybe.

What are some of your favourites? I could always use some suggestions!

Photos courtesy of Google Images

25 thoughts on “10 Recommended Romantic Comedies

  1. I can’t stand most Adam Sandler movies, but The Wedding Singer is so hard to hate! It’s just irresistible 🙂 glad you included it! And I unfortunately have yet to see Crazy, Stupid Love but now I’m gonna check it out this weekend!

    • Yeah unfortunately Adam Sandler has made some truly horrible movies, too. I honestly don’t even know how some of them were possibly created. Anyways, Crazy, Stupid, Love. is one of my favourites! Let me know what you think 🙂

  2. Not exactly my forte, but hey, I love 10 Things I Hate About You! (although it is sad to watch now… both because of Heath Ledgers early passing, and the exceptionally cool Julia Stiles’ fall from her late 90’s fame) So I’m definitely happy it places at no. 1 here.
    Jordan

  3. I will need to watch of few of these as I haven’t seen them all 🙂 Then I will vote there are a couple though that I totally agree are Awesome. Got to say though half way into Silver Linings Playbook I began to think I’d need a Valium or two in order to finish watching it LoL 🙂 Good Picks Jen!

  4. I have to watch Silver Linings Playbook and 500 Days of summer. I keep hearing such good things about them! As for the rest, I agree that they deserve a spot on this list! Nicely written!

    • Well you’re in for a pleasant surprise then! It’s nice to miss some great movies because you have something great to discover later, I actually didn’t watch this one until around last year myself.

  5. 500 Days of Summer is in my top 50 favorite films and definitely the best on this list. I like movies that go against the grain as this one so eloquently does.

Leave a Reply

