Netflix Edition: 8 Must Watch TV Series

Most of these series are pretty well-known, but they so good that they should be mandatory viewing material for anyone who pays 8 bucks a month for Netflix.

NOTE: This list is based on Canadian Netflix.

8. Dexter

dexter460

This show has some really amazing points and some really low points. Overall, I would say that it is still worth the watch because it is a pretty interesting story. However, I think it would have been better if it had ended a season or two earlier.

7. Mr. D

mrd

Probably the least well-known on this list, this Canadian show deserves more recognition! It’s definitely not for everybody, but if you like that subtle, awkward, self-aware comedy then I would check this show out. Gerry Dee is just a truly funny guy… seriously, watch that video clip.

6. The Walking Dead

Behind-the-scenes-of-The-Walking-Dead

I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t starting to question the fate of this post-apocalyptic zombie drama. If nothing else, check out the first couple of seasons because they are excellent. Actually, the whole series is pretty damn good, it just gets slightly repetitive and highly depressing at times.

5. Californication

californication-204

I am not finished this show, so I can only vouch for the first 3.5 seasons, but so far I like what I see. David Duchovny plays the witty, captivating, and troubled character of Hank Moody so naturally. It is funny, dark, and features lots of bad behaviour.

4. Community

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

This show is so fantastically unique and wonderful. One of the greatest comedy series of the 2000’s in my opinion. Plus, Abed is one of my all-time favourite TV characters.

3. Freaks and Geeks

freaks:geeks

It is simply devastating that this show only lasted one season. How did the world let this happen? It is funny, awkward, and sentimental, plus it features so many awesome actors. The silver lining is that despite its short run, it allowed hilarious actors like Seth Rogen and Jason Segel to start an acting career.

2. Buffy The Vampire Slayer

buffy

I just finished this show and I am having some serious withdrawals. It is cheesy and lacking modern special effects but I don’t care. Buffy features some of the best character development, morals, social commentary, comedy, relationships, and emotion that I have ever seen. Trust me, the first season is a little hard to adjust to but once you get through that, you won’t want to turn it off. It’s really too bad that most young girls won’t see this show because the amazing Sarah Michelle Gellar and Alyson Hannigan kick so much ass and are just the most incredible role models. I could go on about how this show was brave enough to tackle issues such as death, sex, homosexuality, and musicals, but I won’t because I’d need a full review to do it justice.

1. Breaking Bad

Breaking_Bad

For the twelve people out there who have not yet seen this flawless gift of a show, get on it! I can’t do it justice in a few sentences, all I will say is that it is my all-time favourite show on television. Plus you feel like a badass just for watching because it is just that crazy and awesome.

As you can probably tell, there are lots of series that I haven’t seen yet on Netflix. After finishing Buffy I am really looking for something to fill the void. Suggestions??

Photos courtesy of Google Images. 

21 thoughts on “Netflix Edition: 8 Must Watch TV Series

  1. Have you watched Angel? It’s a bit more serious than Buffy, and it had some bad episodes. But it was a good series in its own way. Some plot lines and episodes were genius. It may be just what you need to help you with your withdrawal. You might want to wait until the term is over though.

    • I have not watched Angel! I was thinking about it, but he was never one of my favourite characters, so I thought it might just be a depressing, weaker version of Buffy. But if you think it’s worth it, maybe I will have to check it out!
      And TV is an important part of my school routine… it helps me de-stress haha 🙂

  2. BTVS is by far one of my favourite shows, and I still have the last season to watch. The fact that Buffy showed girls that you could be super feminine and still kick ass was huge! She was so tough, but also vulnerable and insecure and sometimes she fucked up but that’s okay because we’re all like that! There were so many episodes that were just genius, like how “The Body” was done without any music at all, or the one where no one spoke, or “Once More with Feeling”. I’m also definitely Team Angel, so it hurts my heart to hear that you don’t like him 😦

    I also am super ashamed to admit that I haven’t seen past the first half of season 1 of Breaking Bad. I hated Walter White so much that I couldn’t get into it. But now it’s the show of the century and I feel so left out when people start talking about it, so I’ll probably have to watch it.

    You should totally watch Firefly! Another Joss Whedon show, and its only one season which means its quick to watch but then you’ll experience a Freaks and Geeks – esque withdrawl.

    Or Fringe. Oh my god I can’t believe I forgot about Fringe. CSI meets the X Files. It’s actually amazing. Probably one of my all time favourite shows.

  3. The last season of Buffy is really intense! But I still think my favourite season was the one with Glory because it seemed like they gave the time for all of their characters to really develop. And yeah, “The Body” was such an amazing episode! It was crazy that there was no music the entire episode… I cried so much. It was just such an innovative and emotional episode.
    I don’t know why, Angel just always had a pained look on his face and seemed too depressed (not that I don’t get why he was depressed), it just seemed like their relationship was so unhealthy. BUT in saying that, I thought he was cooler when he came back for small parts in later seasons.
    Devin! You should just re-try Breaking Bad. It’s weird because normally for me likeable characters is really important, but I could always just sort of find something to care about in Walter. Plus, Jesse’s character gets a lot more important and gives you someone to root for, and Walt Jr. is super cool throughout too. But don’t feel bad, you’re definitely not the only one who feels that way, I’ve heard it before. I’m ashamed to say that I could never really enjoy Arrested Development or Weeds because I didn’t really like the characters. There. Feel better?
    Thanks for the suggestions! I’ve heard of both of those shows, but never really learnt anything about them. Speaking of The X Files, did you like that show? I really like Duchovny in Californication, so I thought about looking into that.

    • I definitely needed to warm up to Angel because I felt the same way at first, but something about his broody-ness totally won me over. But I do love Spike as well.

      I’ve only watched the first season, but my boyfriend is super into it. According to him, the it starts off very mediocre and gets amazing so you might have to stick it out for a bit before it blows you away!

      I probably will watch BB once school is out and I can power through it!

  4. Everyone’s saying this right now, but House of Cards is definitely worth watching. Political drama, suspense, Kevin Spacey. What more could you want? Of course, Kevin Spacey is my favourite actor, so that probably has a lot to do with why I like it so much.

    • Kevin Spacey is awesome! Good choice for a favourite actor. I love how he can play a good guy or a bad guy, but he’s best when he’s a combination of the two. Maybe I will look into House of Cards. I don’t really know that much about it — I only saw one preview and it looked sort of cheesy, but you’re right, everyone seems really into it. Thanks for the suggestion, I’ll check it out!

  5. I was going to mention The X-Files, but it looks like you guys beat me to it. One of my all time favorite shows.

  6. Yes, watch xfiles immediately. Also, amarrican Netflix has Sherlock with Benedict cumberbatch and martin freeman. Best show ever next to battlestar Galactica

  7. Oh my gosh, so many things I could recommend. Orange is the New Black, The Newsroom, Extras, It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, The League… I could go on. And on. And on. If you ever find yourself in need, just ask! (Apparently, I need a life.) I also second Firefly. It was such a great show that was definitely cancelled before its time.

    This is a great list, though. Dexter is one of my favourite shows of all time. (I named my cat Dexter. And he is evil, so he fits the name perfectly.) It was so much better in the beginning than the end, though. Pretty disappointing. Classic case of “should have quit while you were ahead.”

    Check out some of my suggestions, if you have time, and let me know what you think! =]

    • I started Orange is the New Black, but I heard the end of the season is a major cliffhanger, so I will probably wait for a while to finish it. I will have to look into the other shows though, thanks!
      I liked Dexter, but I just felt like it got pretty repetitive after a while. Plus, I was not impressed with the final season, especially the final episode. That’s so cute that you have a cat named Dexter! I have a brother named Dexter haha (not after the show though, he’s older).
      That’s why I have so much respect for Breaking Bad because they definitely could have kept it going, but they felt like the story was long enough, so they quit while it was still amazing. Like you said, I think Dexter should have done that too.
      Thanks for the comments and suggestions, I will definitely let you know when I check out some of these shows!

  8. Did you ever watch Carnivale? That was both awesome and incredibly disappointing. A brilliant series, but it went over budget and was cancelled before they resolved any of the conflicts. One of the all-time best series — such as it was.

    • I have never heard of Carnivale, but I looked it up and it sounds really good. So since it was cancelled is it left unresolved, or is there some closure?
      This reminds me so much of Freaks and Geeks because that show had so much potential but only lasted ONE season! It just doesn’t make sense to me that excellent shows like these ones are cut short when show like Two and a Half Men have survived 10 seasons. Life is just unfair.
      Will definitely check out Carnivale though, thanks!

Leave a Reply

