10 Loveable Villains

10. The Avengers (2012)

Loki

2498593-the_avengers_clip4_loki_imprisoned

For obvious reasons.

 9. Fear (1996)

David McCall

fear

Maybe it’s just because I will always love Mark Wahlberg, but this character was that type of crazy that was almost sort of endearing. Like a little psychotic lost puppy.

8. The Woodsman (2004)

Walter

the-woodsman

So this character is technically the protagonist of this movie, but he is also a convicted child molester, so I would say that he counts as a bad guy too. I love that he was able to take this incredibly stigmatized and haunting issue and create a character that still had so much depth and empathy.

7. Fight Club (1999)

Tyler Durden

489

Tyler Durden just refuses to follow the rules, and doesn’t that just sound so tempting sometimes? That’s what makes him so charming and likeable.

6. Collateral (2004)

Vincent

images (7)

A loveable hit-man who’s funny, suave, and dangerous. This movie presents one of those scenarios when I wouldn’t mind for the “bad guy” to get a happy ending.

5. The Dark Knight (2008)

Joker

MyCard_The_Joker

Again, for obvious reasons. Amazing performance filled with humour, depth, and twisted anarchy. What’s not to love.

4. American Psycho (2000)

Patrick Bateman

download (3)

“Look at that subtle off-white coloring. The tasteful thickness of it. Oh, my God. It even has a watermark.” — Patrick. He gets furious over business cards, and casually discusses Huey Luis during brutal murders. Ya’ gotta have priorities I guess.

3. The Silence of the Lambs (1991)

Dr. Hannibal Lecter

images (6)

Dr. Lecter is not only one of my favourite villains, but one of my favourite characters of all time. I think it’s his soft spot for Clarice that really makes him loveable. And that feeling like he can see what you’re thinking… he’d probably be an amazing psychiatrist if he didn’t eat you afterwards.

2. Law Abiding Citizen (2009)

Clyde Shelton

law_abiding_citizen_profilelarge

Again, this character is the protagonist, but he does engage in some behaviour that is frowned upon. What I love is that he is a normal guy who did exactly what every person in his horrible situation would want to do. And he did it with so much style.

1. X-Men (2000)

Magneto

907_max

 Magneto, who is sick of all of the prejudice, judgement, and segregation, decides to prove his prosecutors right and end the human race. It seems almost reasonable considering the fact that he has grown up in a world of hate and rejection. From watching his mother get dragged into the gas chambers to being shunned for being a mutant, I can see why he would choose the non-human team. Plus, according to imdb.com, Ian McKellen decided to take the role because the rejection of the mutants reminded him of what he went through as an open homosexual.

Sometimes villains can be more likeable than the protagonists… who are your favourites?

Photos courtesy of Internet Movie Database (imdb.com)

21 thoughts on “10 Loveable Villains

    • Exactly. That’s a big reason why I don’t watch too many “action” movies because I find that the bad guys are oftentimes so boring and underdeveloped. I love a layered, interesting villain!

  1. Pretty difficult to argue with any of these Jenna!!! Unless this isn’t in any order, I would have put Heath Ledger’s Joker prob at #1 or #2, he’s simply jaw-droppingly good. Also, I really really dig Javier Bardem from Skyfall. He was a creep, yes, but his sense of weird humor and his flamboyant personality was great.

  2. I completely agree with this list. There is just something about a well-developed villain that I just love. I tend to sometimes enjoy the villains more than the heroes in some movies.

    • Glad to hear it!
      What I love about a good movie villain is that it’s so much harder to accomplish than creating a likeable good guy. It takes some special consideration and when that effort is made it makes the movie so much better!
      Thanks for the comment!

  3. I haven’t seen all of these movies, but I totally agree on those I have. Loki, Magneto, Lecter, Tyler Durden, and especially The Joker are some truly exceptional villains. Great list!

  4. Colonel Saito from “The Bridge on the River Kwai” is a standout for me. I’m not sure if they’d count or not, but the pirates from “Captain Phillips.” Also, Gollum/Smeagol from “The Lord of the Rings,” Mayella Ewell from “To Kill a Mockingbird,” and Tom Chaney from the “True Grit” remake if only because of how pathetic they made him.

  5. Nice list. I’d have the Joker as Number one, but your list options are pretty strong. I know exactly what you mean about Tom Cruise. Amazing baddie in the film. I’d have Hans Bruber from Die Hard in there though at two.

Leave a Reply

