10 Inspirational Movies

These are the movies that restore my faith in humanity.

**minor spoilers ahead**

10. Trapped (2002)

download (4)

So you know when you’re watching a movie and yelling at the characters to make better decisions? Well you don’t have to do that for this movie. This victimized family capably fights back and it is a such a refreshing change of pace for this genre.

9. Good Will Hunting (1997)

Good-Will-Hunting-01-4

A perfect story about someone who deserves so much better actually getting the chance to make his life better.

8. 50/50 (2011)

50-50

This movie is inspiring because it is able to be funny and endearing in the darkest times — it’s a good reminder that there is always something to smile about.

7. Erin Brockovich (2000)

f100ernbrock

A badass female character, innocent victims getting justice, and it’s based on a true story? Definitely a feel-good movie.

6. North Country (2005)

north_country_600-600x340

Sexism being defeated, one movie at a time. And it’s another true story.

5. The King’s Speech (2010)

The-Kings-Speech

This movie is able to stand out thanks to Colin Firth’s amazing portrayal of King George VI. You are able to feel his struggle, and watch him overcome it. And it’s another true story.

4. The Fighter (2010)

the_fighter

The classic underdog story. He overcomes his overbearing family, his lack of training, and his history of losing to become a champion. Hey it’s also based on a true story.

3. The Shawshank Redemption (1994)

shawshank-redemption-1

This movie is not based on a true story, but it’s still super awesome. The characters all get their deserved (if perhaps slightly improbable) ending.

2. A Time To Kill (1996)

a-time-to-kill1

This movie tackles issues of racism, revenge, and rape — and the bad guys are really truly bad. So it’s all the more heartwarming when they get justice.

1.The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003)

bumps10

The epic conclusion to this epic series is just so… epic. The scene near the end when the hobbits finally get recognition is just one of the many insanely inspirational parts in this movie. If Frodo can get the ring to Mordor, I can get out of bed, I can go for a jog, and I can finish my homework!

What movies leave you with warm fuzzy feelings?

Photos courtesy of Google Images 

18 thoughts on “10 Inspirational Movies

  1. I saw LOTR:ROTK on a date and my date actually shed a tear when Frodo finally dropped the ring into the lava! 50/50 seemed like a hard subject to make a comedy about, but everyone involved totally nailed it! Favorite part of the movie: (Joseph Gordon-Levitt holds Seth Rogen’s hair clippers, noticing that he is neither clean shaven nor lacking a head of hair) “What do you use these for?” LOL!

    • That’s definitely a good sign if she cried at LOTR! haha

      And I totally agree, I loved 50/50. I think Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Seth Rogen had a very natural chemistry. And yeah that scene was hilarious! I also really liked Anna Kendrick in it too.

  2. amazing list Jenna, I’ve actually seen them all [including Trapped(2002)] 🙂

    I love Mr. Holland’s Opus (1995) and I think it’s very inspirational (not based on a true story tho) 🙂

  3. Glad to see Trapped was put on this list. I never thought of it as an inspiratonal movie, but could understand why it’s on here. Plus it’s a really good thriller with a great cast. Hell even Courtney Love is good in this. Great post

    • Glad to see someone else who likes this movie 🙂 And I agree, I loved the cast/characters. I actually thought Love was so perfect for that role of a messed up/ misguided character. AndI love Kevin Bacon’s character too.
      Thanks for the comment!

  4. Warm fuzzy feelings? I don’t know. Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind is one. So is Shawshank, as you already point out. Good Will Hunting, too.

    I haven’t seen all of the movies on this list, but those I have? I guess I agree with you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

