10 Movies That I Don’t Like As Much As Everyone Else Does

So I’m probably not going to win many fans with this post, but I gotta do it. The movies on this list are either hugely popular or highly rated by critics (or both), and they’re movies that I just don’t like as much as everyone else seems to. I’m NOT saying that these movies not well-made, but some of them are definitely overrated in my opinion. So don’t hate me please.

10. Gravity (2013)

Tomatometer: 97%

Gravity-film-Sandra-Bullock

“All Blockbusters should be this intimate and beautiful” Gizmodo

I am not denying the stunning visual effects in this movie. All that I’m saying is that I was surprised to see it as so many people’s favourite movie of 2013. I’m not saying that I didn’t like it, but as far as other aspects of the movie go (e.g. story, characters, entertainment value), I can think of many 2013 movies that I would place above Gravity. I think a lot of my resentment comes from the fact that it completely dominated the Oscars.

9. This is the End (2013)

 Tomatometer: 83%

this-is-the-end-red-band-trailer

This is the End makes audiences laugh so hard they have to gasp for air” Cinemablend

I have already spent some time ranting about this movie on my Disappointing Movies post, so I won’t go into too much detail. But I will say again that these hilarious actors had so much potential to make this movie witty, unique, and hilarious. Instead 90% of the “humour” is made up of dick/ poop jokes. Yet so many people seemed to love it.

8.The Place Beyond The Pines (2012)

Tomatometer: 81%

The-Place-Beyond-the-Pines-Gosling-Mendes

“Derek Cianfrance has created an epic generational drama” Slash Film

I have heard so much acclaim for this movie that masterfully represents how choices last for through generations (apparently). Well, when I saw it, all I could focus on was how pretentious and seemingly never-ending it is. The first segment featuring Ryan Gosling is actually quite fascinating, but things take a turn for the worse and keep going down hill.

  1. The Blair Witch Project (1999)

Tomatometer: 87%

Blair Witch Project

“One of the creepiest films since The Exorcist” Entertainment Weekly

While I can appreciate the innovations this movie made, the found footage shooting style was not enough to make this movie scary for me. I spent so much time trying to decipher what was on the screen that most of the scares fell flat.

  1. Ted (2012)

Tomatometer: 68%

ted-movie-image

“Movies just don’t get funnier than this” Box Office Magazine

I went to the theatre really excited to see what Seth MacFarlane would come up with for his first movie. Well I was not impressed. Firstly, Ted was just the bear version of Peter Griffin. Secondly, the storyline was so weak and boring that it was almost non-existent — it seemed more like an unfunny, extended Family Guy episode. I definitely have lower expectations for his next attempt (A Million Ways to Die in the West).

  1. The Hangover (2009)

Tomatometer: 79%

the-hangover-11

 “The kind of brilliant comedy that will have you gasping” Lyles’ Movie Files

Part of my dislike for this movie was probably due to the fact that I watched it after hearing so many people raving about how it was the funniest movie ever. I’m not saying that this movie wasn’t funny, but I am saying that it is NOT the funniest movie ever. Most of the humour relied on Zach Galifianakis being a really weird guy, which simply was not enough to hold an entire movie franchise together (in my opinion).

  1. Step Brothers (2008)

Tomatometer: 55%

step-brothers-2

“… an astute no-brainer that’s also Will Ferrell’s funniest effort since Talladega Nights” CNN

Will Ferrell and John C. Reilly acting like loud, obnoxious children got old about ten minutes into this movie. Saying something louder does NOT making it funnier.

3. Titanic (1997)

Tomatometer: 88%

Titanic-Leo-and-Kate

“… a dizzying blend of spectacular visuals and old-fashioned melodrama” Rotten Tomatoes

All I have to say is THERE WAS ROOM FOR TWO! That final scene coupled with Celiné’s overwhelmingly emotional musical accompaniment and it seemed like an overly-dramatic, pretentious love story with the Titanic being used as merely a setting. I’m not saying it’s a bad movie, but I don’t think that it is the untouchable masterpiece that some believe it to be. The overall story is tragic and heartbreaking, and some of the scenes are beautiful, but I still find it difficult to stay interested in this movie for three hours.

2. The Notebook (2004)

Tomatometer: 52%

Título: El Diario De Noa

 “One of contemporary cinema’s compelling and flat-out indelible love stories” Reel Film Reviews

I’ve watched this movie three times and fell asleep every. single. time. I don’t know what it is. I think it’s just a little too ooey-gooey romantic for me. Not that I’m opposed to some heart-felt romance, but I just can’t seem to make it through this movie.

1. Paranormal Activity (2007)

Tomatometer: 83%

paranormal_still096

Paranormal Activity is one of the scariest movies of all time” Bloody-Disgusting

I did not find this movie even sort-of scary. Shaky-cam, flat characters, and invisible forces throwing stuff across the bedroom is about all that this movie amounts to. I will never understand the hype surrounding this franchise. I was even fooled into watching the third instalment after hearing that it was better than the first, and was left equally disappointed. If you’re looking for a scary ghost movie, check out The Conjuring

What’s on your “Overrated Movies” list?

Photos courtesy of Internet Movie Database (IMDb.com)

56 thoughts on “10 Movies That I Don’t Like As Much As Everyone Else Does

    • Me too! It’s not that Titanic is a bad movie, I just don’t think it’s as sensational as some people do. But I’m also not a huge James Cameron fan, so that probably doesn’t help. haha

  1. Nice post, I enjoyed your take on these. I have to agree with you on 1,6,8, and 10 but have to politely disagree on 2,3,4,5…haven’t seen 7,9 but now I’ll skip them. Also wanted to say I didn’t think the conjuring was scary maybe because I don’t believe in that sort of thing and found it amusing/laughable more than anything haha.

    • Thanks! Glad you agree with some of them 🙂

      Yeah if you’re not scared of ghost movies, then The Conjuring wouldn’t be that scary either. I sort of am though, so I’m always looking for well-made, scary paranormal movies!

  2. I really enjoyed this post. I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t swoon over The Notebook. I also feel the same way about Step Brothers and Titanic. Honestly, I haven’t seen any of the others, and I probably won’t watch them anytime soon. Great post. 🙂

  3. Great post. It may surprise you but I agree with you on every single one except Gravity. There are even some on your list that I really dislike (Ted, The Hangover, End). A couple of others I like but I’m certainly not as crazy about them as most seem to be (Titanic, Pines).

    This would be a fun viral idea – a topic to pass along and get others to do. Lotsa fun.

  4. Great post, Jenna! Although I have not yet seen all of the movies you wrote about, I do agree with you one the ones I did see like Ted and The Hangover, but I especially agree with you on Gravity. That movie was really good, but certainly not one of the greatest.

    • Glad to hear it Joan, and thank you!

      I was a bit disappointed by how many Oscars Gravity won. Some of them were definitely well deserved, but some of them could have found better homes.

    • Glad to hear it!

      And yeah I totally agree that Gravity from a technical aspect was stunning (I’m so glad I got to see it in theatres), but as you said, there were some things that were definitely not perfect.

  5. I HATE A History of Violence. Everyone I know loves it. Besides the action there’s too much long silent staring and a lot of the plot doesn’t seem complete. Currently a 76% on Rotten Tomatoes.

  6. The thing with Ted, Hangover, and Step Brothers is that they have very little re-play value if at all because with each view you are less shocked by the joke.

    • I wasn’t aware that A History of Violence was so well received — I didn’t hate it, but I can definitely see your points. I didn’t really find it that exciting or memorable either.

      Good point. These three movies are filled with loud, cheesy, shock-value humour that lose all appeal after the shock is gone. Even on the first viewing I was pretty unimpressed with these movies, and found the humour to lose its appeal fast.

  7. Nice post! I think the ones I really agree with you on would be Ted, Titanic and Blair Witch. I don’t fully agree with Place Beyond The Pines, but I certainly agree that the first portion was by far the best.

    I think if I was going to share an example or two of my own they might be…. most Adam Sandler movies, The Amazing Spiderman, Million Dollar Baby….

    • Glad you can agree with a couple of them 🙂

      I agree with most Sandler movies (with the exceptions being his older movies like The Wedding Singer). I gotta say that I didn’t mind the last two, though. Any reasons in particular that you didn’t like them?

      • I agree – the older ones were better. He has a few other exceptions too. I like Punch Drunk Love.

        Well I didn’t hate the new Spiderman by any means – I just didn’t like it THAT much. I thought it was just ok – worse than the first 2 in the previous Sam Raimi series (but better than the 3rd).

        Million Dollar Baby – I just didn’t like it. Hard to say why but when I watched it I just flat out didn’t like it – I guess I thought it was silly and a bit preachy. I thought I’d love it too, which probably didn’t help. High expectations can give a movie worse chances ha

      • Yeah Punch Drunk Love is a good exception too. But as far as his latest movies like Jack and Jill, I only feel a mixture of pity and horror. I can’t even fathom how people could enjoy them.

        I didn’t mind the new Spiderman, but I agree that it was not as good as those two overall. But I think I prefer Garfield’s version of the character, so that really helped me enjoy the whole movie.

        That’s too bad! I liked Million Dollar Baby, but I can understand what you mean about it being a bit preachy. And I firmly believe that high expectations can easily ruin any movie. I always try to avoid reading reviews or watching trailers until after.

        Glad to hear some of your picks, thanks for sharing!

  8. What I appreciate about The Blair Witch Project is that it had some unreal marketing leading up to its release. Same with Paranormal Activity. They took the concept of word-of-mouth press and capitalized on it in an incredibly smart way. As for the actual films, I really enjoy them. I don’t particularly find them scary. I just have a huge soft spot for found-footage films, like Cloverfield. Love that movie. It’s a huge weakness. They do leave something to be desired with dialogue, but its the concept that’s inventive (at least for BWP).

    As far as my most “over-rated movies”, I think Shawshank gets WAY too much praise. It’s a well-made movie, but is it REALLY the best movie of all time? No, absolutely not. Cruel Intentions is another big one. Probably one of the only films I can’t finish because I detest it that much, but it has such a cult following. I’ll just never understand why. I’m also not a big fan of The Notebook. The first time I watched it everyone was sobbing and I was just not feeling it. It’s cute and Ryan Gosling is a mega-babe, but it’s just oozing with shmaltz.

    • I definitely agree with you on both of their amazing marketing, but for me it was all the more disappointing when the movies weren’t that good. Found footage can really work for me, like you said, Cloverfield was awesome, I also really liked Chronicle. The things that I didn’t like about these two movies (especially Paranormal) was the story and the fact that they made something potentially scary into something silly (for me at least).

      I really love Shawshank, but I would have to agree that it is not the best movie ever. It’s sort of surprising that it’s #1 on IMDb. And wow. If I’d known Cruel Intentions had a cult following it would be on here for sure. That movie was brutal. Uuuggh just thinking about it is painful. Every sentence seemed so forced and everything about it seemed to desperate to be edgy. It almost seemed like it was intentionally bad.

      I definitely agree with you on The Notebook, but I gotta disagree on the last two. Especially The Fighter — I love that movie. I also liked American Hustle, but I do think it was a tad overrated. And I love Silver Linings. I just love Russell’s characters.

      Thanks for the comments, love hearing other opinions on these!

  9. Once again, I haven’t seen all of these. But I mostly agree on those I have, including Gravity (I think it good, but flawed in places) and The Blair Witch Project.

    Good list!

    • That’s funny! I seriously considered putting Braveheart on this list, but I really don’t like Mel Gibson, so I felt like maybe I was just too biased to appreciate it, but maybe not! I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one who didn’t like it!

  10. I’m with you on This Is The End, over all I did enjoy it but they way overdid the toilet humour! And oh my goodness The Notebook! So predictable and corny. I usually enjoy a good romantic drama but The Notebook was just too much.

  11. Great list although I’m afraid I loved Titanic and The Notebook. I really enjoyed Gravity too but I think it helped I saw it in 3d IMAX and I’m not sure it’s one I could watch again and feel the same experience. American Hustle I felt was hugely overated although the performances were good, espcially from Jennifer Lawrence, but the story wasn’t that great. It’s contriversal to say this but I felt 2001: A Space Odyssey was a bit boring. The visuals are great and I can understand why people see it as a classic but I just wouldn’t want to watch it again.

    • You’re definitely not alone feeling that American Hustle was overrated. I personally really enjoyed it, as I do with pretty much all David O. Russell movies, but I can still agree that it was overhyped and overpraised.
      And honestly, I have never even watched all of 2001 because I am fairly confident that I won’t really enjoy it haha. But I’m not a huge science fiction fan, so I didn’t include it on this list because I might be a bit too biased to give it a fair chance.
      Thanks for the comment and for checking out my blog!

Leave a Reply

