10 of My Favourite Movies

This list is by no means exhaustive because I have a lot of favourite movies. Plus, I excluded any movies that I have already talked about on my blog, and/or that everybody knows and loves.

So these are ten fantastic movies that I haven’t talked about yet!

10. SLC Punk!  (1998)

100512-matthew-lillard2

This movie is so fantastically strange, hilarious, and dark. I wish Matthew Lillard was is more movies.

9. Dawn of the Dead  (2004)

dawn-of-the-dead-2004-remake-main-cast

This movie will always be my favourite zombie story (yes, even over The Walking Dead). There’s just something about it that’s so truly terrifying–maybe it’s the creepy mall setting. Whatever it is, it has provided the material for many nightmares. Plus, the characters are awesome too.

8. The Illusionist  (2006)

illusionistconjure

This movie was released too closely to the critically-preferred and highly similar The Prestige, so it lost a lot of fans and attention. I still really like it though — it is a dark, endearing, and complex movie with a fantastic cast.

7. Se7en  (1995)

718

Kevin Spacey makes an awesome bad guy.

6. Dazed and Confused  (1993)

DazedConfused

Great soundtrack, great characters, and just a really fun movie. Plus, if you have not yet seen Matthew McConaughey saying his most famous line on his first-ever movie, you probably should.

5. Watchmen  (2009)

360_watchmen_0302

This movie is visually stunning, and the story is dark, detailed, and highly symbolic of real-world problems. Plus, Rorschach is one of the coolest superheroes ever.

4. The Town  (2010)

the-town-movie

Ben Affleck wrote, directed, and starred in this Boston-based crime drama. It is heavy on the action, filled with interesting and likeable characters, and it has that intense, gritty feeling that makes it so exciting.

3. American Pie  (1999)

00290065-0000-0000-0000-000000000000_00000065-06d3-0000-0000-000000000000_20110316232529_American_Pie(movie_wallpaper_pictures_photo_pics_poster)(141209164117)american_pie_4

This movie and its sequel have almost unlimited re-watchability. Plus, the soundtrack is filled with awesome nineties music. If only they left a good thing alone and avoided all of the sequels and spin-offs after this.

2. The Words  (2012)

The-Words-Movie_26

I went into this movie knowing nothing about it, and I left in awe. The story, the characters, and the setting were all so intricately designed and beautiful. Bradley Cooper is at his finest, and the rest of the cast is amazing as well. Plus it combines movie-watching and writing, two of my favourite things.

1. Pride and Prejudice  (2005)

pride_prejudice08

Maybe this is a little dorky, but I freakin’ love this movie. I have read the book a few times and watched the movie more times than I care to admit. But I’m only slightly embarrassed because this movie really is amazing. Seriously, this is what love stories are supposed to look like.

Again, this list is by no means exhaustive because I have already talked about so many of my favourites on this blog… so what are some of your favourites?

Photos courtesy of Internet Movie Database (IMDb.com)

24 thoughts on “10 of My Favourite Movies

  1. SLC Punk is hands down one of my favourites (have you heard they’re making a sequel?). And I Se7en I’ve watched probably 20 times. But I have to say I’m a bit disappointed, you chose the remake of Dawn of the Dead over the original?

    • A sequel?? That’s sort of scary/exciting. I just looked it up, and it doesn’t have any of the same actors, does it? I don’t know how I feel about that.
      And yeah, Se7en is awesome!
      I knew someone would comment on that! The remake is the one I saw first, and its really what made me love the zombie genre, so it just has a special place in my heart 🙂

      • Most of the SLC Punk 2 stuff is still just rumours, but I’ve heard they have a lot of the old cast. Jason Segel said he won’t be in it though. And it seems like its going to be very fan supported.
        Fair enough! I just thought the original was so well done. It had less action but a very creepy atmosphere. The movie that made me love zombie movies was Shaun of the Dead!

      • Okay good. Well that is something to look forward to!
        And Shaun of the Dead is amazing! Actually everything with the Simon Pegg + Nick Frost combo is pretty great.

  2. Dazed and Confused is one of my favourite films of all time, and Matthew McConaughey is one of my heroes. I also concur on The Town and American Pie as well! Classics!

  3. Horror films, costumed dramas, raunchy comedies, boston accents. You have a wide range of films on your list. Good job. The Words had me a bit hesitant to see, but I may check it out based on your reccomendation

    • Thanks! I really try to be as open-minded as possible with different genres.
      And yes I would definitely recommend The Words! The amazing performances alone are enough to make this movie pretty great, and the story is really interesting too. Let me know what you think of it!

    • Thank you! I try to watch lots of different genres!
      And I agree, Dazed and Confused is such a classic, and I love seeing people like Ben Affleck and Milla Jovovich before they were really famous too.

  4. Great list! American Pie is one of my faves – it always cheers me up if I’m feeling a bit rubbish. Clueless falls into this category for me too, I’ve watched it sooo many times. I’m currently running a series of posts on my blog where guest contributors talk about their favourite movies and why they love them. If you’d like to write about one of your top ten for my site then do drop me a line http://writerlovesmovies.com/2014/04/14/writer-loves-requiem-for-a-dream-new-blog-series/ It would be great to feature you on there, your blog is great! 🙂

  5. Many of these are absolutely fantastic, Jenna. Especially Se7en and The Town. I was never a terribly big fan of The Illusionist, though. (Not that I hate it either – I just don’t love it.)

    All the same, great list.

    • Glad to hear you can agree on a couple of these, James!
      Lots of people aren’t crazy about The Illusionist, but there’s just something about it that I really like… I am a big Edward Norton fan though, and I like his character, so that definitely has something to do with it!
      Thanks for the comment, glad you liked the list 🙂

Leave a Reply

